Wednesday, September 26, 2007

STD's!!

When I first started reading Weddingbee, it took a while to get used to all the acronyms and shortcuts people used - MOH (Maid of Honor), FOB (Father of the Bride), FI (fiance), FMIL (Future Mother in Law). One that particulary mortified me was STD - short for sexually transmitted disea.....er, I mean Save the Date. Ok, seriously, who in their right mind would use that acronym? Imagine my confusion when I read things like:

I don't know what to do about my STD's.
We started passing out our STD's.
Thought I'd share our STD with you guys.

WTH!? I mean....seriously, that's a terrible acronym to use. But now Jeremy and I find it hilarious and we joke endlessly about awful ways to talk about our STD's.

Which brings me to my next rant. Whoever thought of the whole Save the Date concept is freakin brilliant! Must have been some genius in the bridal industry. Boy, are they good at getting brides to spend money on things they don't really need. I mean, seriously, people are going all out on their Save the Dates, spending more on one STD than I would care to spend on a whole invitation. Not to mention it means killing more trees (no, I don't consider myself a tree hugger, but since everyone else seems to be going "green," I guess I'll go along with it too). Also, I honestly don't really want people to "save the date". I mean, with 800+ guests, I wouldn't mind if a couple hundred guests didn't save the date. I keed....really, I keed.

In all honesty though, I do think Save the Dates have their value. But because we have such a large guestlist, it's really impractical, in my opinion. However, there are some people we really do hope will show up (i.e. our families and the bridal party). So I did design this simple little STD to pass along to them (via email, of course, because I'm cheap.....er....practical like that =P).

0 comments: