Wednesday, September 26, 2007

STD's!!

When I first started reading Weddingbee, it took a while to get used to all the acronyms and shortcuts people used - MOH (Maid of Honor), FOB (Father of the Bride), FI (fiance), FMIL (Future Mother in Law). One that particulary mortified me was STD - short for sexually transmitted disea.....er, I mean Save the Date. Ok, seriously, who in their right mind would use that acronym? Imagine my confusion when I read things like:

I don't know what to do about my STD's.
We started passing out our STD's.
Thought I'd share our STD with you guys.

WTH!? I mean....seriously, that's a terrible acronym to use. But now Jeremy and I find it hilarious and we joke endlessly about awful ways to talk about our STD's.

Which brings me to my next rant. Whoever thought of the whole Save the Date concept is freakin brilliant! Must have been some genius in the bridal industry. Boy, are they good at getting brides to spend money on things they don't really need. I mean, seriously, people are going all out on their Save the Dates, spending more on one STD than I would care to spend on a whole invitation. Not to mention it means killing more trees (no, I don't consider myself a tree hugger, but since everyone else seems to be going "green," I guess I'll go along with it too). Also, I honestly don't really want people to "save the date". I mean, with 800+ guests, I wouldn't mind if a couple hundred guests didn't save the date. I keed....really, I keed.

In all honesty though, I do think Save the Dates have their value. But because we have such a large guestlist, it's really impractical, in my opinion. However, there are some people we really do hope will show up (i.e. our families and the bridal party). So I did design this simple little STD to pass along to them (via email, of course, because I'm cheap.....er....practical like that =P).

Friday, September 14, 2007

Inspiration

The other day I read this post over on Black Eiffel and thought, "Well there's an idea!"



Seriously, why is it that the first thing people ask you is, "Have you picked your colors?" I have to admit, I've been guilty of the same offense. It's really not such a bad thing, but Kim has a point....it is "such a surface place to start planning something so special." And so I love her suggestion of picking words that you want to represent your wedding. I think it's so easy to get caught up in the little details....Do my napkins match my table cloths?.....Are my centerpieces too tall?.....Should I get that overpriced track suit with 'bride' monogrammed on my butt?

So it got me thinking......What words would I want to represent my wedding?

Seeing as I will have an insanely big wedding (and when I say big, I mean BIG....like 800+ guests big!), there's no way we're going to be able to make it feel small and intimate, as nice as that would be . So instead, I'm going to see it as a big a** party. I want people to have fun and enjoy themselves. I'd like the atmosphere to feel relaxed and casual, not all formal and stuffy. I hope to include elements that are unique to us, so it's not just "like that other wedding we went to." Mostly, I want it to be about the love that is shared.....between my fiance and I, our families, and our friends.

So, the words I want our wedding to be about?
fun, unique, family, friends, love